Established in 1947, Youth of the Year is our premier recognition program for Club members, rewarding extraordinary service to the Club, to the community, and to family; academic success; strong moral character; life goals; and poise and public speaking ability. The program is most effective when used as a year-round tool for fostering young people’s character, personal growth and leadership qualities.

Local Clubs recognize members ages 14 to 18 as Youth of the Month winners and from these honorees select a Youth of the Year, who then participates in state competitions. State winners each receive a $1,000 scholarship and participate in regional competitions. Five regional winners each receive a $10,000 scholarship and compete on the national level. The National Youth of the Year receives up to an additional $50,000 in scholarship funds and is installed by the President of the United States.  

2014 – Linda Reyes

2013 – Carlos Huerta

2012 – Andrea Baghaee

2011 – Juan Iduarte